Use More CAS

When I was first introduced to a CAS device, I thought it was a great tool for my AP Calculus class.  The more I used CAS activities I realized it would be a great tool for all math.  I believe student investigations are key in deeper understanding of mathematics.  CAS devices such as the TI-Nspire CX handheld and iPad app give students the opportunity to investigate the why’s and how’s of math.  If I write the steps on the board, the students only half believe.  If I give them technology and pose a “dilemma” such as why does ½ + ⅓ = ⅚, then the real learning begins.  I created this blog to share my experiences with and thoughts about using CAS in all grade levels.

Leave a Reply

